As algo trading grows, are prop firm rules keeping up?
Automation has become standard equipment for traders taking a prop firm challenge. We read the published rules at 15 firms and found a set of clauses written for discretionary traders that now sit awkwardly against strategies that run themselves.
A review by Velotrade, one of the 15 firms in the data set. Every rule below carries a source receipt from that firm’s own published pages. Terms change often, so verify current conditions before you buy.
Automation stopped being a specialist discipline
The trader taking a prop firm evaluation today is increasingly likely to arrive with a strategy already written, backtested and ready to run unattended, and increasingly likely to have bought or adapted one rather than built it. Institutional desks still dominate algorithmic trading overall, but retail is the faster-growing segment, expanding at roughly 8.3% a year through 2031.
Platform data tells the same story more sharply. Across one multi-asset prop firm’s book, the share of active traders running at least part of their strategy through an API or an automated system more than doubled in three months.
Share of active traders running an automated strategy
Monthly, last four months. Velotrade platform data.
Two kinds of restriction, filed under one heading
Most of the 14 firms reviewed restrict high-frequency trading, latency exploitation or arbitrage. These are not anti-automation rules. Latency arbitrage and simulated-fill exploitation extract money from a pricing model rather than from the market, and a firm underwriting that risk is not being restrictive by prohibiting it, it is staying solvent.
A second category sits in the same documents, under the same headings, and does something different. These clauses do not target abuse. They shape how an ordinary automated strategy is allowed to behave, and a trader reading the line “expert advisors permitted” is unlikely to find them before funding.
Rules that constrain ordinary automation
14 firms reviewed, excluding Velotrade
Confirmed counts from each firm’s published rules. Anti-abuse clauses are excluded and discussed above. Where a firm publishes no statement on a category it is left unrecorded rather than counted as absent, which applies to 8 firms on hold time, 12 on platform limits, 10 on third-party bots and 12 on hosted servers.
The same number, measured four different ways
A consistency rule caps how much of a trader’s profit may come from a single day. Its stated purpose is to filter out traders who pass on one lucky trade. Applied to a system it interacts differently: trend-following and breakout strategies earn most of their return in a small number of large moves, and a flat curve punctuated by three big days is the expected signature of those categories rather than a sign of luck.
The headline percentage is the least useful part of the rule, because the denominator changes from firm to firm.
| Firm | Cap | Measured against | Consequence |
|---|---|---|---|
| FTMO | 50% | Positive days' profit | Keep trading to dilute the ratio |
| Topstep | 40% / 50% | Total net profit; profit target in evaluation | Payout blocked, or target raised |
| HyroTrader | 40% | Total net result, including losses | Excess not counted toward target |
| DNA Funded | 30% | The requested payout | Excess deducted from the payout |
None of the 15 firms reviewed fails an account for a consistency breach. The trader is profitable, no loss limit is breached, and the finish line simply moves.
The practical consequence is time. A systematic trader whose edge concentrates into a few sessions stays in the evaluation longer, and carries market exposure for longer, than the profit target alone would suggest. One more wrinkle worth knowing: FTMO’s FAQ states there are no additional consistency requirements, while its terms reserve the right to impose them at its discretion.
The clock, the server, and who wrote the code
The clock
E8 Markets prohibits holding more than half of trades for under a minute. FTMO forbids EA-driven activity above 2,000 server requests a day. Individually reasonable; together they set a floor on how often a strategy may act.
The server
Topstep prohibits VPS, VPN and remote servers outright, requiring all activity to originate from the trader’s own device. Goat restricted VPS on four account types for accounts bought from August 2026. A strategy has to run somewhere.
The authorship
Goat Funded Trader prohibits third-party expert advisors and may demand the source code as proof. FunderPro permits them only where the trader owns the code. E8 permits them and instead bans duplicate strategies across users.
Platform limits compound these. FundedNext permits expert advisors on MetaTrader 4 and 5 only, and only on accounts under $50,000. Eleven of the 15 firms run on MetaTrader, which constrains what a strategy can be written in before any rule applies. And at least one firm’s documents contradict each other: HyroTrader’s terms permit bots only “where expressly permitted in the Trading Rules”, and its Trading Rules page never mentions them.
All 15 firms, four axes
Coded from each firm’s own published rules, FAQ and terms. “Not stated” means the firm publishes nothing on that category; absence is never inferred from silence. Click any receipt icon to read the source quote.
| Firm | Consistency rule | Cap on risk per trade | Hosted servers | Third-party bots |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velotrade | None | None | Permitted | Permitted |
| FTMO | 50% of positive days' profit (1-Step) | Discretionary | Permitted | Permitted |
| Topstep | 40% funded path · 50% in evaluation | Contract caps | Prohibited | Permitted |
| HyroTrader | 40% of net result, evaluation only | 3% per position | Not stated | Unresolved |
| BrightFunded | None | None | Permitted | Permitted |
| DNA Funded | 30% of requested payout, funded | Not stated | Permitted, with logs | Not stated |
| FundedNext | 40% on some products | 3% on funded | Recommended, restricted in terms | Permitted |
| E8 Markets | 40% / 35% at payout · none on Pro | Discretionary 1% | Not stated | Permitted |
| FunderPro | 40–45% eval · 15% Instant | 2% on Instant | Permitted | Own source code only |
| Goat Funded Trader | 15–20% funded · none on step models | Floating-loss caps | Prohibited on 4 types | Prohibited |
| FundingPips | 35% on on-demand and monthly | Not stated | Not stated | Restricted |
| The5ers | 3 profitable days (Pro Growth) | Not stated | Not stated | Restricted |
| Crypto Fund Trader | 40% at reward request | Not stated | Not stated | Restricted |
| Breakout Prop | None | None | Not stated | Restricted |
| Bitfunded | None found | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
The full coded data set, including drawdown models, fees, payout terms and per-asset leverage, is published at velotrade.com/data/prop-firm-rules.
Four questions that actually separate firms
The claim that trading bots are permitted carries almost no information, because it is true nearly everywhere. These four answers do, and none of them appears on the page that says bots are welcome.
When does the consistency rule bind?
During the challenge, on the funded account, or only at payout. The same cap costs a very different amount depending on the answer, and eight of the 14 firms make it conditional on the plan or payout route you pick.
Is there a floor on hold time?
A minimum hold or an activity cap decides whether a high-turnover strategy is viable at all. It is usually several pages into the terms, and three firms publish one.
May the code run on a server?
A prohibition on VPS or remote servers rules out most hosted deployments and forces a strategy onto a machine you keep awake.
Does the strategy have to be yours?
Two firms restrict purchased expert advisors, one of them reserving the right to ask for your source code.
Methodology
- Sample. 15 proprietary trading firms, selected for market visibility in the crypto and multi-asset segment. Velotrade is included and identified throughout.
- Sources. Each firm’s own published rules page, FAQ or help centre, and terms of service. No third-party aggregator or review-site data was used. All 14 competitor records were re-verified across those three surfaces on 9 September 2026.
- Coding. A firm is counted in a category only where its published rules state that restriction explicitly. Rules that vary by plan, phase or payout route are coded as conditional. Where a firm publishes nothing, the cell reads “not stated” rather than “none”.
- Disagreement. Several firms’ own pages contradict each other. Where that happens, both readings are recorded rather than resolved in the firm’s favour or against it.
- Limits. Published rules are not the same as enforcement practice, and this review measures only what firms state. FundingPips was verified on one model page; Breakout Prop’s terms were unreachable; Bitfunded’s absence of a consistency rule is inferred from its published objectives rather than stated by the firm.
Disclosure
This review was compiled by Velotrade, a proprietary trading firm and therefore a participant in the market it is describing. Velotrade is one of the 15 firms in the data set, and its entry was coded from its own published rules against the same categories, from the same kind of sources, as every other firm. Readers are encouraged to check any firm’s row, including Velotrade’s, against that firm’s current terms. Velotrade accounts are simulated evaluation accounts; this article is educational and is not investment advice.
Automated trading and prop firm rules
Ready to trade with
$200,000 capital?
Up to 90% profit split
Keep most of what you earn
Zero personal risk
Trade with our capital
Instant payouts
Withdraw anytime